What Are Tri-Plate AA Medallions?

Posted by John Gall on

Tri-plate AA medallions are medallions given to members of Alcoholics Anonymous (AA) as a symbol of their sobriety. They are similar to bronze AA medallions, which are also commonly referred to as "sobriety chips" or "milestone chips", but with a difference in the material they are made of.

Tri-plate medallions are made with three layers of metal - a brass center and a nickel or silver-plated outer layer. These medallions are usually awarded in recognition of certain milestones in the recovery process, such as reaching a certain number of days, months, or years of sobriety. The design of the medallions typically includes the AA triangle symbol, which represents the three legacies of AA: Recovery, Unity, and Service. The medallions also usually have the AA Serenity Prayer inscribed on them.

Tri-Plate AA Medallion

Similar to the bronze medallions, the tri-plate medallions are usually awarded at AA meetings, and they are often carried by members as a reminder of their sobriety and as a symbol of their commitment to the AA program. They also serve as a way for members to share their progress with others and as a way for others to offer support and encouragement.

The tri-plate medallions are considered more durable and long-lasting than the bronze medallions, due to the use of different metal layers. They also tend to have a more polished and elegant appearance, which is why they are sometimes preferred by members.

It's worth noting that the use of medallions and chips is not mandatory within the AA program, it's up to the individual member whether they choose to use them or not. Some AA groups or regions may not use them at all, others may have different designs.

Share this post

← Older Post Newer Post →